Saturday Slump

I think it’s important to start by saying that I did not fall off the wagon.

I have had the kind of day that, two short weeks ago, would have sent me to Target just for the peace and quiet. And I would have bought stuff there. And I wouldn’t have cared.

The dog hasn’t been well today, so I’ve been keeping a close eye on him, and my son must have decided upon waking this morning that he just wasn’t going to listen all day.

I started the day with a to-do list a mile long, and maybe one-tenth of it got done. Some days that wouldn’t bug me. I don’t know why it’s bugging me so much today.

I just don’t want to hear the sound of my own voice for at least the next eight hours.

This is the first day I have felt the desire to buy something. Anything, really, that would get me out of the house. Instead, I’m sitting on the couch with my laptop (I really hope this thing lasts the year), dwelling on my lousy day which really wasn’t all that bad, and wondering how in the world I am going to keep this up for 50 more weeks.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Slump

  1. I’d call that a win — the fact that you didn’t cave. But that’s the hardest place to be in, when breaking a bad habit — when the novelty of not doing dissipates and suddenly the temptation TO do it seem bigger.

    I really commend you for doing this for 52 weeks. Today I got an impulse to paint my bathroom and “go browse the second-hand bookstore.” I spent over $100 on impulse buys! oof!

    Like

  2. You are doing it! Hard days come BUT they go. You pressed on and made it.
    Yesterday, hubby and I made a decision to go to Michaels to get a picture frame for his office. He wants pictures of us, our sons and their families, all in one frame. The other option was Walmart which is beside Metro. I knew going there would cause us to go to Metro as well, and we’d need a bag or two. Did well on the frames, cheap and on sale. Not so good on the Command hooks to hang pictures here in our new apartment.
    I am always inspired when in Michaels. it gives me the urge to get crafting. I have lots of stuff here to use. So the pull to look was strong but I walked firmly to the checkout and while hubby fainted over the Command strips, I did have a coupon for half off one pack.
    You are making me think more about what I have and what I need. And I thank you for that. And I encourage you in you journey. Thank you for blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: See Spot Bail | Monique Makes Do

Leave a Reply

