Week 4: Making Do in Montréal

I think I have been slacking with the posts. Maybe I was posting too frequently before, and once a week is the right amount. I don’t know these things.

wpid-wp-1412180195365.jpeg

1. I was in Montréal for a few days for work, so I got to enjoy eating at restaurants! I had steak. I spent a total of $20 on a 6-pack of beer (allowed), of which I only drank two. I did no shopping, and bought no convenience food or drinks. Although I travel light, I packed a water bottle and my travel mug so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy water or coffee. I even brought along a lemon and a lime from home to make Montréal tap water more palatable. I also brought fruit from home and some muffins.

wpid-wp-1412180317330.jpeg2. I flew Porter to and from YUL on this trip. First time on the airline. Checked bags cost money but the beer is free. I didn’t check a bag and I did drink the beer. As I was reading the in-flight magazine, I saw that the airline is supplying all their in-flight crew with Rimowa Salsa Air cabin bags. Being a Rimowa girl myself, I tried to convince the flight attendants that it is possible to pack for five days in that bag. I am hereby offering my services as a packing coach to all Porter Airlines in-flight crew. Get at me, Porter.

3. My spend for this week was pretty low, mostly because of the trip. I gassed up my car for $47.42 and I bought some groceries for $8.94. Plus the $20 beer.

4. My son was invited to his first birthday party of the school year this Saturday, and we also have a wedding to attend that day. The birthday boy allegedly likes Batman, so he’s getting a knitted bat-hood hat. I am doing makeup for the bride and some of the wedding party as a gift, and I have a little something I made for them to unwrap as well. I am pretty sure that makeup and knitting are my only giftable skills, and sometime soon, people are going to stop inviting me to things.

wpid-wp-1412180474644.jpeg

5. Last Saturday was serendipitously eventful and also free. My cousin told me about the grand opening of an athletic club near my house, and I met her there for sammies while we watched the demos. We each got a free class for showing up and checking in on Facebook. After we left, my son saw some bouncy castles on the way home and we stopped to check it out. A company that sells mini-homes was having an open house with a barbecue, so we hung out till dinnertime, bouncing and touring the pre-fab homes before chowing down again. We got home with enough daylight left to water-seal the deck, which is a job that had been haunting my dreams since late July. I had entertained the thought of staining parts of the decking a fun colour, but I had plenty of sealer to do the whole thing, so I made do.

2 thoughts on “Week 4: Making Do in Montréal

  1. Gawd, I really need to learn more from and you and your “buy nothing adventures” … the first thing I take from this post is… hum, i neeeeed new luggage, I want some Rimowa! Pinned it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

