Stuff I Don’t Throw Out

Monique’s hottest recipe is Compost Soup.

What’s Compost Soup?

StefonIt’s that thing where you take all the wilted and not-quite-fresh-anymore veggies in the fridge, chop them up and add them to whatever stock you happen to have on hand, season liberally with cumin or curry or cilantro or whatever, and blend the living daylights out of it until it is all the same colour. Sometimes delicious, always edible.

“You can really taste the compost.” -My Husband

Since I’ve had Oprah on the brain, I decided I would compile a list of some of my own favourite things. This stuff is all in my kitchen at this very moment. Don’t tell my husband, or he might try to throw it away. (jk. I think I’ve mostly worn him down.)

1. Bacon Grease

wpid-wp-1415581834416.jpeg

Every time I cook bacon, I pour the fat through a strainer and into this jar. Sometimes I have two of them in the fridge if we happen to have eaten a lot of bacon.

I use it for roasting vegetables (Brussels sprouts are a particular favourite), cooking eggs, and baking bread.

We are almost out, as you can see, which means it’s time to buy more bacon.

2. Black Bananas

wpid-wp-1415581675647.jpegSometimes I buy these already bagged for baking in the store. There are usually one or two that are still edible as-is. Then I keep them till they go really dark and use them to make oatmeal breakfast cookies. I mash them up with my hands and add rolled oats, some kind of dried fruit, shredded coconut or ground flax seed, sometimes some protein powder and maybe a little cinnamon and make them into mounds, baking them for a while until I think they’ve dried out enough. Then I freeze them and take them for work breakfasts.

3. Bones and Veggie Peels

wpid-wp-1415581768345.jpegI make my own stock about once a month. I have a big Ziploc bag in the freezer where I throw all the bones from things we eat, carrot peels, onion and celery bits, and when it’s full, I dump it into my Crock Pot, cover it with water and about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and I leave it on low for about 24 hours. I don’t really like how it makes the house smell, but it’s worth it for the mineral-rich broth I get out of it. This is what the bottom shelf of my fridge looks like at any given time.

4. Half-eaten Apples

wpid-wp-1415581908875.jpegYou know when your kid comes home from school, and he’s only taken three bites out of his apple and stuck it back in his lunch box? Well, rather than stomping your feet and railing about food waste, why not just cut the brown parts off, slice up the rest of the apple and throw it in a freezer bag? Then, when it’s full, you can throw it in a casserole dish with some coconut oil, maple syrup, and cinnamon and bake it into a quite fine topping for fridge oatmeal, or even real oatmeal if you have that kind of time.

I did a batch today. Those are frozen cranberries.

wpid-wp-1416445586190.jpeg

5. Coffee Grounds (New!)

Good friend of the blog Stephanie turned me on to this new trick a couple days ago and I must say I am hooked. Take your used coffee grounds and use them in the shower as a face and body scrub! The critics are raving:

“I read that it’s something strippers do to make their skin look better!” -Steph

“I feel like someone replaced all my skin with some better skin.” -Steph

“I did that coffee thing and it was bawm.” -Me

wpid-wp-1416354693354.jpeg

4 thoughts on “Stuff I Don’t Throw Out

  1. The quotes! I die! Taking my coffee grounds into the shower next time for sure. I also was told that they help to scrub the inside of your pipes when you wash them down the drain with hot water. So the bonus here is tub drain maintenance. Almost as awesome as stripper skin.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also a bacon-grease saver. Makes for delicious scrambled eggs on the days we don’t actually have any bacon in the house. And black bananas….also for breakfast cookies and banana muffins, sometimes smoothies if I’m feeling really ambitious.

    But coffee grounds for stripper skin? Sign me up! Totally going to give this a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

